Search apartments
watchlist
+49 911.96443220 DE

Real estate for capital investment in Munich

Business location with top jobs, growth region, place with high quality of life – the Bavarian capital Munich has a lot to offer and attracts more and more people. What does this mean for the housing market? Is the purchase of a property for capital investment in Munich worth it in the long term? In the following, we have compiled some interesting information for you on all aspects of investing in residential property.

Information about real estate market Munich

Personal advice
Tel. 0911.96443220
investment@project-immobilien.com

Facts about your investment in Munich

1 | Business location Munich

Munich is, next to Berlin, Germany’s most important economic, transport and cultural center and offers a broad mix of industries. The major branches of the economy are: information and communication technology, automotive and mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, medical technology as well as cultural and creative industries.
Many internationally operating companies are represented in the Isar metropolis –including BMW, Siemens and Allianz. With Google, Microsoft, Amazon, IBM and Oracle, almost all of the big players among the US corporations have locations in Munich. Evidence of the strong job market is the low unemployment rate of 3.3%, which is lower in no other major German city.

Munich: Facts and figures at a glance

Munich: Facts and figures at a glance

1.5
million inhabitants (Munich)


6.1
million inhabitants (metropolitan region)


35
universities


186,000
students


350,000
companies


54.4%
single-person households


2 | Rising population figures

Munich has been growing steadily for years – on the one hand due to sustained high birth rates, on the other hand as a result of high immigration. The Bavarian capital currently has a population of more than 1.5 million people. The signs are pointing to growth for the future as well. According to current forecasts, some 1.85 million people will be living in Munich by 2040. This represents a growth rate of 18.8 percent.

3 | High demand on the housing market, rising rents

The excellent economic situation and the continuously increasing number of inhabitants ensure a high demand on the housing market. The market in Munich is one of the most expensive property markets in Germany. The boom phase, which has been going on for years, is continuing and the supply of housing is far from covering demand. The shortage of building land reinforces this situation.

At the moment, the rents offered in Munich average € 21.67 per square meter for newly built apartments, and € 20.53 per square meter for existing apartments. It should be noted that there are great differences between the individual districts.

Districts with the highest offered rents (new build):

  • Altstadt-Lehel: 30.59 €/m²
  • Maxvorstadt: 27.29 €/m²
  • Au-Haidhausen: 26.75 €/m²
  • Ludwigvorstadt-Isarvorstadt: 25.50 €/m²

Districts with the lowest offered rents (new build):

  • Allach-Untermenzing: 17.81 €/m²
  • Aubing-Lochhausen-Langwied: 19.27 €/m²

5 | Living in Freising as an alternative

Due to the shortage of living space in the city and constantly rising rents, a trend has intensified in recent years: working in Munich, living in the surrounding area. According to the city of Munich, in 2017 alone, almost 26,000 people moved from the city to the neighboring countryside. This offers several advantages – especially communities with good transport connections, such as Freising, are an excellent alternative to the big city.

Situated north of Munich, Freising is a place worth living, with short distances to the countryside – the Isar meadows and numerous local recreation areas offer relaxation from everyday life. Furthermore, Freising impresses with excellent local supply. Thanks to the large selection of childcare and educational facilities, Freising is the ideal place to live for families. Last but not least, there are convenient connections to Munich both by public transport and by car.

The increasing attractiveness of the Munich surrounding area is also leading to rising rents in Freising: for a newly built apartment, an average of € 16.15 per square meter can currently be expected.

5 | Munich and the “rental brake”

As many other large cities, Munich is subject to the Tenancy Law Amendment Act, or the so-called “rental brake”. It states that rents for new leases in sought-after areas may only be a maximum of ten percent above the local comparative rent.

Exceptions to this rule include new buildings used and rented for the first time after 2014. So, buying a new property gives you more freedom of choice.

By the way: the restrictions of the rental brake also apply in the district of Freising.

6 | Property in Munich as an investment: Conclusion

In Munich, the signs are pointing to growth. More and more people are being attracted to the Bavarian capital, which is why current forecasts assume a further shortage of living space and rising rents. In the long term, the metropolis therefore offers very good rentability and stable yields. Thus, the purchase of a property in Munich – or alternatively in Freising – as a financial investment represents a very attractive option.

7 | Facts and figures around Munich

Quality of life


Booming economy, low crime rate, good urban infrastructure, a wide range of leisure activities – Munich once again came third in Mercer’s “Quality of Living” ranking of the world’s most livable cities. As in previous years, Munich is thus the city with the highest quality of life in Germany.

   1st place: Vienna
 3rd place: Munich
  10th place: Stockholm
  45th place: New York
  57th place: Rome
  74th place: Dubai
103rd place: Shanghai
167th place: Moskow
231st place: Baghdad

Quality of life

Supply and demand


Net remuneration


Population growth


Rental price development


Sources: Statistisches Amt München

Best markets for your capital investment

<script>

Immobiliensuche
Merkliste
0911.96443220 EN

Investieren in Münchner Immobilien

Wirtschaftsstandort mit Top-Arbeitsplätzen, Wachstumsregion, Ort mit hoher Lebensqualität – die bayerische Landeshauptstadt München hat viel zu bieten und zieht immer mehr Menschen an. Was bedeutet das für den Wohnungsmarkt? Stellt der Kauf einer Immobilie zur Kapitalanlage in München langfristig eine lohnende Investition dar? Im Folgenden haben wir für Sie wissenswerte Informationen rund um die Geldanlage in Wohneigentum zusammengestellt.

Kapitalanlage in München-Immobilien

Individuelle Beratung
Tel. 0911.96443220
investment@project-immobilien.com

Fakten rund um Ihr Investment in München

1 | Wirtschaftsstandort München

München ist neben Berlin Deutschlands wichtigstes Wirtschafts-, Verkehrs- und Kulturzentrum und verfügt über einen breiten Branchenmix. Die bedeutendsten Wirtschaftszweige sind: Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie, Fahrzeug- und Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Medizintechnik sowie Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft. In der Isar-Metropole sind viele international tätige Unternehmen vertreten – darunter BMW, Siemens und Allianz. Mit Google, Microsoft, Amazon, IBM und Oracle haben zudem nahezu alle Big Player unter den US-Konzernen Standorte in München. Ein Beleg für den starken Arbeitsmarkt ist die geringe Arbeitslosenquote von 3,3 %, die in keiner deutschen Großstadt niedriger ausfällt.

München: Zahlen und Fakten im Überblick

München: Zahlen und Fakten im Überblick

1,5
Millionen Einwohner (München)


6,1
Millionen Einwohner (Metropolregion)


35
Hochschulen


186.000
Studierende


350.000
Unternehmen


54,4%
Single-Haushalte


2 | Steigende Einwohnerzahlen

Bereits seit Jahren wächst München stetig weiter – zum einen aufgrund von anhaltend hohen Geburtenraten, zum anderen als Folge hoher Zuwanderung. Derzeit hat die bayerische Landeshauptstadt mehr als 1,5 Millionen Einwohner. Auch für die Zukunft stehen die Zeichen auf Wachstum. Laut aktuellen Prognosen werden bis zum Jahr 2040 rund 1,85 Millionen Menschen in München leben. Das entspricht einem Wachstum von 18,8 Prozent.

3 | Hohe Nachfrage auf dem Wohnungsmarkt, steigende Mieten

Die hervorragende wirtschaftliche Lage und die anhaltend steigenden Einwohnerzahlen sorgen für einen hohen Bedarf am Wohnungsmarkt. Der Markt in München ist einer der teuersten Immobilienmärkte Deutschlands. Die bereits seit Jahren bestehende Boomphase hält an, das Wohnungsangebot deckt bei Weitem nicht die Nachfrage. Der Mangel an Bauland verstärkt diesen Zustand.

Aktuell liegen die Angebotsmieten in München bei durchschnittlich 21,67 €/m² für Neubauwohnungen bzw. bei 20,53 €/m² für Wohnungen im Bestand. Dabei muss beachtet werden, dass es zwischen den einzelnen Bezirken teils große Unterschiede gibt.

Bezirke mit den höchsten Angebotsmieten (Neubau):

  • Altstadt-Lehel: 30,59 €/m²
  • Maxvorstadt: 27,29 €/m²
  • Au-Haidhausen: 26,75 €/m²
  • Ludwigvorstadt-Isarvorstadt: 25,50 €/m²

Bezirke mit den niedrigsten Angebotsmieten (Neubau):

  • Allach-Untermenzing: 17,81 €/m²
  • Aubing-Lochhausen-Langwied: 19,27 €/m²

5 | Wohnen in Freising als Alternative

Aufgrund der Verknappung des Wohnraums in der Stadt und stetig steigenden Mieten verstärkte sich in den vergangenen Jahren ein Trend: in München arbeiten, im Umland wohnen. Nach Angaben der Stadt München zogen allein im Jahr 2017 knapp 26.000 Menschen aus der Stadt ins benachbarte Umland. Dieses bietet einige Vorteile – gerade Gemeinden mit guter Verkehrsanbindung, wie etwa Freising, eignen sich als ausgezeichnete Alternative zur Großstadt.

Nördlich von München gelegen, ist Freising ein lebenswerter Wohnort mit kurzen Wegen ins Grüne – die Isarauen sowie zahlreiche Naherholungsgebiete bieten Erholung vom Alltag. Zum anderen besticht Freising mit hervorragender Nahversorgung. Dank der großen Auswahl an Kinderbetreuungs- und Bildungseinrichtungen ist Freising der ideale Wohnort für Familien. Nicht zuletzt besteht sowohl mit dem ÖPNV als auch mit dem Auto eine bequeme Anbindung nach München.

Die steigende Attraktivität des Münchner Umlandes führt auch in Freising zu steigenden Mieten: Für eine Neubauwohnung ist derzeit im Durchschnitt mit 16,15 €/m² zu rechnen.

5 | München und die Mietpreisbremse

Wie in vielen anderen Großstädten gilt in München die sogenannte „Mietpreisbremse“, also das Mietrechtsnovellierungsgesetz. Dieses besagt, dass die Mieten bei Neuvermietungen in gefragten Gegenden nur noch maximal zehn Prozent über der ortsüblichen Vergleichsmiete liegen dürfen.

Ausgenommen hiervon sind unter anderem Neubauten, die nach 2014 erstmals genutzt und vermietet wurden. Mit dem Kauf einer Neubauimmobilie haben Sie also mehr Bestimmungsfreiheit.

Übrigens: Auch im Landkreis Freising gelten die Beschränkungen der Mietpreisbremse.

6 | Immobilien in München als Geldanlage: Fazit

In München stehen die Zeichen auf Wachstum. Mehr und mehr Menschen zieht es in die bayerische Landeshauptstadt, weswegen aktuelle Prognosen von einer weiteren Verknappung des Wohnraums und steigenden Mieten ausgehen. Langfristig bietet die Metropole daher eine sehr gute Vermietbarkeit und stabile Renditen. Der Kauf einer Immobilie in München – oder alternativ in Freising – als Geldanlage stellt somit eine attraktive Investition dar.

7 | Zahlen und Fakten rund um München

Lebensqualität


Boomende Wirtschaft, geringe Kriminalitätsrate, gute städtische Infrastruktur, Vielzahl von Freizeitmöglichkeiten – München landete im Mercer-Ranking „Quality of Living“ weltweit erneut auf dem dritten Platz der lebenswertesten Städte. Damit ist München wie schon in den Vorjahren die Stadt mit der höchsten Lebensqualität in Deutschland.

   1.Platz: Wien
 3.Platz: München
  10.Platz: Stockholm
  45.Platz: New York
  57.Platz: Rome
  74.Platz: Dubai
103.Platz: Shanghai
167.Platz: Moskow
231.Platz: Baghdad

Lebensqualität

Angebot & Nachfrage


Nettoarbeitsentgelt


Bevölkerungsentwicklung


Mietpreisentwicklung


Quellen: Statistisches Amt München

Städte Auswahl:

Beste Wohnungsmärkte für Ihre Kapitalanlage

<script>