Search apartments
watchlist
+49 911.96443220 DE

Real estate for capital investment in Hamburg

How are property and rental prices in the Hanseatic city developing? Do apartments and houses represent a worthwhile investment in the long term? If you are interested in buying a property in Hamburg, we have compiled some interesting information about investing in residential property.

Investment in Hamburg real estate

Personal advice
Tel. 0911.96443220
investment@project-immobilien.com

Facts about your investment in Hamburg

1 | Metropolis on the upswing

With one of the largest transshipment ports in the world and its international airport, Hamburg is one of the most critical logistics locations in Europe. The Hanseatic city also offers excellent prospects on the job market as a center of education, research, and media. Not surprisingly, the city-state attracts more and more people. Current forecasts expect the number of inhabitants to rise to around 2 million by 2040.

Hamburg: Facts and figures at a glance

Hamburg: Facts and figures at a glance

1.89
million inhabitants


1.04
million households


54.5%
single households


102,000
resident companies


19
universities


101,000
students


2 | The construction industry is booming

High-quality new construction projects are supposed to meet the demand on the housing market. According to the Federal Statistical Office, the number of building permits issued has risen steadily in recent years and reached a record level of over 12,450 in 2017. Hamburg thus offers attractive options for capital investors.

3 | Growing demand, rising rents

New apartments are also necessary for the Hanseatic city due to the continuing high level of influx. Rental apartments are in great demand here, which reflects in ever-higher rents. An annual increase in rents of around 3 to 5 percent is not uncommon. According to the current rent index of the Statistics Office North, the average net rent in Hamburg is € 8.66 per square meter.

Various factors play an essential role here: in addition to the size of the apartment, the location and the year of construction are also decisive, as the following examples clearly show:

Rental price development


Existing building: apartment size 66 – 90 m², year of construction 1978-1993
New building: apartment size 66 – 90 m², year of construction 2011-2018

Apartments in ornately decorated old buildings – such as those in Altona – are trendy in Hamburg. The current rent index nevertheless shows that you can achieve the highest rents with new apartments.

4 | Popular districts: This is where the people of Hamburg like to live

Eimsbüttel, Winterhude and HafenCity: according to the Hamburger Morgenpost, these are the favorites among the 104 districts of the Hanseatic city. In a survey, about 7 percent of the participants said that they would like to live in Eimsbüttel. Winterhude received 6 percent of the votes, HafenCity followed with 5 percent.

These districts are also among the top 10: Barmbek-Nord, Eppendorf, Ottensen, Blankenese, Barmbek-Süd, Altona-Altstadt and St. Pauli.

5 | Living in Schleswig-Holstein as an alternative

Living space is becoming increasingly scarce, and rents are rising. As a result, more and more Hamburg residents are considering an option: work in Hamburg, live in Schleswig-Holstein. The green surroundings of the Hanseatic city offer several advantages – especially in communities with excellent transport connections, such as Norderstedt.

Located directly on Hamburg's northern city limits, Norderstedt seamlessly connects to the Hanseatic city. Without noticing it, you can cross the state border with the U1 underground from Langenhorn. With its well-developed infrastructure and the short distances to the countryside, Norderstedt is especially interesting for families.

The increasing attractiveness of Norderstedt also leads to an increase in rents here, north of Hamburg. The business magazine Capital lists the current average prices per square meter:

Durchschnittliche Mietpreise in Norderstedt


6 | Hamburg and the “rental brake”

As in many other large cities, Hamburg is subject to the Tenancy Law Amendment Act, or the so-called “rental brake”. It states that rents for new leases in sought-after areas may only be a maximum of ten percent above the local comparative rent.

Exceptions to this rule include new buildings used and rented for the first time after 2014. So buying a new property gives you more freedom of choice.

7 | Property in Hamburg as an investment: Conclusion

In Hamburg, the signs are pointing to growth. The Hanseatic city keeps drawing more and more people, which is why current forecasts are predicting a further shortage of living space. In the long term, therefore, the metropolis offers good rentability and stable returns. The purchase of an apartment or house in Hamburg as an investment property is, therefore, an attractive investment.

8 | Facts and figures around Hamburg

Quality of life


Hamburg is among the greenest cities in Germany, and is regularly ranked in Mercer’s “Quality of Living” top 20. The city was recently ranked 19th.

   1st place: Vienna
  10th place: Sydney
 19th place: Hamburg
  45th place: New York
  57th place: Rome
  74th place: Dubai
103rd place: Shanghai
167th place: Moskow
231st place: Baghdad

Quality of life

Supply and demand


Net remuneration


Population growth


Sources: Statistikamt Nord

Best markets for your capital investment

<script>

Immobiliensuche
Merkliste
0911.96443220 EN

Investieren in Hamburger Immobilien

Wie entwickeln sich die Immobilien- und Mietpreise in der Hansestadt? Stellen Wohnungen und Häuser langfristig eine lohnende Investition dar? Wenn Sie sich für den Kauf einer Immobile in Hamburg interessieren, haben wir für Sie wissenswerte Informationen rund um die Geldanlage in Wohneigentum zusammengestellt.

Kapitalanlage in Hamburg-Immobilien

Individuelle Beratung
Tel. 0911.96443220
investment@project-immobilien.com

Fakten rund um Ihr Investment in Hamburg

1 | Metropole im Aufschwung

Mit einem der größten Umschlaghäfen weltweit und dem internationalen Flughafen gehört Hamburg zu den wichtigsten Logistikstandorten Europas. Darüber hinaus bietet die Hansestadt auch als Bildungs-, Forschungs- und Medienstandort hervorragende Perspektiven auf dem Arbeitsmarkt. Wenig überraschend, dass es immer mehr Menschen in den Stadtstaat zieht. Aktuellen Prognosen zufolge soll die Zahl der Einwohner bis 2040 auf rund 2 Millionen ansteigen.

Hamburg: Zahlen und Fakten im Überblick

Hamburg: Zahlen und Fakten im Überblick

1,89
Millionen Einwohner


1,04
Millionen Haushalte


54,5%
Single-Haushalte


102.000
ansässige Unternehmen


19
Hochschulen


101.000
Studierende


2 | Baubranche boomt

Hochwertige Neubauvorhaben sollen den Bedarf am Wohnungsmarkt decken. Nach Angaben des Statistischen Bundesamtes ist die Zahl der erteilten Baugenehmigungen in den vergangenen Jahren konstant angestiegen und befand sich 2017 mit über 12.450 auf einem Rekordniveau. Damit bietet Hamburg attraktive Optionen für Kapitalanleger.

3 | Wachsende Nachfrage, steigende Mieten

Neue Wohnungen zu errichten, ist in der Hansestadt aufgrund des anhaltend hohen Zuzugs auch notwendig. Mietwohnungen sind hier stark gefragt, was sich in immer höheren Mietpreisen spiegelt. Eine jährliche Erhöhung der Mieten von rund 3 bis 5 Prozent ist keine Seltenheit. Laut aktuellem Mietenspiegel des Statistikamtes Nord liegt die durchschnittliche Nettokaltmiete in Hamburg bei 8,66 €/m².

Dabei spielen verschiedene Faktoren eine wichtige Rolle: Neben der Wohnungsgröße sind auch die Lage sowie das Baujahr entscheidend, wie folgende Beispiele deutlich machen:

Mietpreisentwicklung


Bestandsbau: Wohnungsgröße 66 – 90 m², Baujahr 1978-1993
Neubau: Wohnungsgröße 66 – 90 m², Baujahr 2011-2018

Auch wenn in Hamburg Wohnungen in kunstvoll verzierten Altbauten – wie sie etwa in Altona zu finden sind – sehr beliebt sind, so zeigt der aktuelle Mietenspiegel dennoch: Die höchsten Mietpreise lassen sich mit Neubau-Wohnungen erzielen.

4 | Beliebte Stadtteile: Hier wohnen die Hamburger gern

Eimsbüttel, Winterhude und die HafenCity: Das sind nach Angaben der Hamburger Morgenpost die Favoriten unter den insgesamt 104 Stadtteilen der Hansestadt. In einer Umfrage gaben rund 7 Prozent der Teilnehmenden an, dass sie gerne in Eimsbüttel wohnen würden. Winterhude bekam 6 Prozent der Stimmen, die HafenCity folgte mit 5 Prozent.

Zu den Top 10 gehören auch diese Stadtteile: Barmbek-Nord, Eppendorf, Ottensen, Blankenese, Barmbek-Süd, Altona-Altstadt und St. Pauli.

5 | Wohnen in Schleswig-Holstein als Alternative

Der Wohnraum wird immer knapper, die Mieten immer höher. In der Folge ziehen immer mehr Hamburger eine Alternative in Betracht: in Hamburg arbeiten, in Schleswig-Holstein wohnen. Das grüne Umland der Hansestadt bietet einige Vorteile – gerade in Gemeinden mit guter Verkehrsanbindung wie etwa Norderstedt.

Direkt an der nördlichen Stadtgrenze Hamburgs gelegen, schließt Norderstedt nahtlos an die Hansestadt an. Ohne es zu bemerken, überquert man mit der U-Bahn U1 von Langenhorn kommend die Landesgrenze. Mit seiner gut ausgebauten Infrastruktur und den kurzen Wegen ins Grüne ist Norderstedt ist vor allem für Familien interessant.

Die steigende Attraktivität Norderstedts führt auch hier, nördlich von Hamburg, zu einer Mietsteigerung. Die Wirtschaftszeitschrift Capital listet die aktuellen Durchschnittspreise pro Quadratmeter auf:

Durchschnittliche Mietpreise in Norderstedt


6 | Hamburg und die Mietpreisbremse

Wie in vielen anderen Großstädten gilt in Hamburg die sogenannte „Mietpreisbremse“, also das Mietrechtsnovellierungsgesetz. Dieses besagt, dass die Mieten bei Neuvermietungen in gefragten Gegenden nur noch maximal zehn Prozent über der ortsüblichen Vergleichsmiete liegen dürfen.

Ausgenommen hiervon sind unter anderem Neubauten, die nach 2014 erstmals genutzt und vermietet wurden. Mit dem Kauf einer Neubauimmobilie haben Sie also mehr Bestimmungsfreiheit.

7 | Immobilien in Hamburg als Geldanlage: Fazit

In Hamburg stehen die Zeichen auf Wachstum. Immer mehr Menschen zieht es in die Hansestadt, weswegen aktuelle Prognosen von einer weiteren Verknappung des Wohnraums ausgehen. Langfristig bietet die Metropole daher gute Vermietbarkeit und stabile Renditen. Der Kauf einer Wohnung oder eines Hauses in Hamburg als Anlageimmobilie stellt somit eine attraktive Investition dar.

8 | Zahlen und Fakten rund um Hamburg

Lebensqualität


Hamburg gehört zu den grünsten Großstädten Deutschlands – und zu den deutschen Metropolen, die regelmäßig unter den Top 20 im Mercer-Ranking „Quality of Living“ vertreten sind. Zuletzt belegte die Stadt Platz 19.

   1.Platz: Wien
  10.Platz: Sydney
 19.Platz: Hamburg
  45.Platz: New York
  57.Platz: Rome
  74.Platz: Dubai
103.Platz: Shanghai
167.Platz: Moskow
231.Platz: Baghdad

Lebensqualität

Angebot & Nachfrage


Nettoarbeitsentgelt


Bevölkerungsentwicklung


Quellen: Statistikamt Nord

Städte Auswahl:

Beste Wohnungsmärkte für Ihre Kapitalanlage

<script>